Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

DignityUSA works for respect and justice for people of all sexual orientations, genders, and gender identities—especially gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, asexual and intersex persons—in the Catholic Church and the world through education, advocacy, and support.

Dignity USA Latest News

February 22, 2024 | by DignityUSA | DignityUSA will be using input gathered from testimonies and reflections submitted to us to send a second report representing the thoughts and concerns of LGBTQIA+ Catholics, Allies, and friends to both the Synod Secretariat and the Synod Team of the US Conference of Catholic Bishops.
February 7, 2024 | Carter Fahey | Love pulls us toward the center of a community. As LGBTQIA+ people, we have often had to build our own communities to find that center and experience that pull. But we can experience the centering pull of love even in the Church. Just a important, today’s reflection reminds us, we can be that centering force for others.
January 31, 2024 | by Ann Marie Szpakowska | For centuries, the community of believers has proclaimed through song and prayer that the Divine Mercy is vast. However, today’s reflection reminds us there not everyone appreciates such expansive compassion. Further, if we do not carry this healing power forward in our own lives, not everyone will experience it either.
January 24, 2024 | by Ann Penick | The presence of Jesus, God’s Anointed, is an incredible gift to those who are open to this loving companionship. However, today’s reflection reminds us this gift entails responsibility. We cannot authentically accept the Divine offer of steadfast love if, in the same act of the will, we do not also commit to being that steadfast love for others.
January 10, 2024 | by DignityUSA | In an address on January 9, 2024, Pope Francis called for a global ban on the practice of surrogacy. DignityUSA cautions that this “sweeping and simplistic” approach fails to distinguish between ethical and unethical acts.

Upcoming Events

  • Lenten Reflections

    DignityUSA invites you to participate in our Lenten Reflections for 2024. All are welcome to join us for a Lent-themed reflection on the week's readings, followed by group discussions. This reflection series takes place each Wednesday, February 21 through March 27, from 8pm - 9pm ET (7pm-8pm CT/ 6pm-7pm MT/ 5pm-6pm PT). The reflection series is free, but registration is required.


    February 21, 2024 to March 27, 2024
    8:00pm

  • Synod Listening Session (March 2)

    Join us for DignityUSA's Synod Listening Sessions on Zoom encouraging our members and friends to speak out on issues of importance to LGBTQIA+ people and allies in anticipation of the upcoming continued Synod on Synodality sessions in Rome this October. We will have two sessions: Thursday, February 15, 8:00pm – 9:30pm ET (7:00pm - 8:30pm CT/ 6:00pm - 7:30pm MT/ 5:00pm - 6:30pm PT) and Saturday, March 2, 2:00pm – 3:30 PM ET (1:00pm - 2:30pm CT/ 12:00pm - 1:30pm MT/ 11:00am - 12:30pm PT).


    March 2, 2024
    2:00pm

  • Virtual Gathering 2024

    Join us on March 16 at 2pm ET/ 11am PT as we explore this promise from our loving God, which appears in the first reading for March 17, the Fifth Sunday of Lent, extended to us as LGBTQIA+ people and Allies. We will do this in prayer and presentations. All are welcome! Registration is required.


    March 16, 2024
    2:00pm